All the Finishers by you.

We’ve all agreed: same time, same place next year.  The weekend was a blast.  Jessie ran the half-marathon and finished in about 2 1/2 hours, Kristina ran/walked it in about 3 hours, I walked it in 3 1/2 hours, and Katie had to switch to the 5K but finished it in less than 23 minutes!  We all finished our events. 

Kristina and I got into KC around 3:00 Friday afternoon.  We met up with Jessie, ran some errands, picked up our race packets, and then went to Missy’s to make dinner.  I cooked pasta, red sauce, and some chicken for protein.  We also had salad and Jessie’s friend Julie brought some bread.  I love racing if I get to eat a bunch of carbs before hand. 

Fuel to Run by you.

Dinner by you.

I am disappointed in myself for not being diligent with my training and that I had to walk the half marathon.  However, I am proud I finished the half (and ran across the finish line), and it only took me an hour longer than Jessie who ran the half.  I am going to really work next year and run the thing.  I was getting passed by people who, although didn’t look as fit, had clearly conditioned themselves better than me.  Talk about having to swallow your pride a little.  Regardless, I finished! 

Finish Line by you.

This made me realize how much I miss the pain and satifaction that come with working out regularly.  I am going to get back into a regular routine.  I was a little envious of Jessie who had really trained for the event.  She was so prepared and educated about the process.  I want that to be me next year, and it will!  She and I will take this picture again next year but hopefully there will be two things different:  I will have finished in a time much closer to hers and Missy will be there with us as a participant not a spectator. 

Sisters by you.

